Deprovision an existing license

Frequently Asked Questions: x360Recover BDR

Written By Tami Sutcliffe (Super Administrator)

Updated at July 14th, 2021

The following article will detail the steps necessary to completely remove an existing protected system from your account. 

Completely removing a protected system license from your account can be a moderately complex task, depending on your licensing and backup configuration settings. 

Please read the following information carefully and follow all the necessary steps when removing a protected system from your account.

 

x360Recover Billing Overview

x360Recover has a very flexible billing model.

This flexibility can make it somewhat complex to understand all of the nuances involved in both how your billing is calculated and how to fully remove a protected system from your account. 

A detailed explanation of x360Recover billing is available here:

Please review all of these articles carefully and ensure you understand the billing implications before removing a protected system from your account.

Remove a protected system

Completely removing a protected system from your account involves several steps. 

All license assignments and Axcient cloud data for a protected system must be removed to entirely remove billing for a given endpoint. 

AirGap protection

Axcient has implemented AirGap protection to prevent the accidental or malicious deletion of protected system data from your x360Recover devices.  When protected systems are deleted within the UI on either an appliance or vault, the actual data is not immediately deleted.  Instead, it is moved into the safety archive on the device and retained for a period of time. This allows it to be undeleted later, if the endpoint was deleted in error.  All protected systems are identified internally using a GUID identifier that can be found on the protected systems Details page:

  • It is a good idea to keep a record of the protected system GUID ID’s by hostname for each of your customers. This can be helpful to the support team in the event that you need to recover a deleted system from the safety archive.

Uninstall the agent

When removing a protected system, the first step is to uninstall the agent software.  When you delete a protected system from an appliance, the agent will immediately re-register itself,  if left running. To prevent this, begin the removal process by uninstalling the agent software.


Disable cloud replication

If you wish to completely remove this protected system from billing, for convenience you may delete the Cloud data for the device by deleting the replication configuration on the appliance. 

Navigate to the Protected Systems on the lefthand navigation and select the appropriate System Name.

Then select Replication to open the Replication configuration dialog.

For each configure vault replication partnership, click Delete. 

Enter the Hostname for this protected system and click Delete to confirm that you want to entirely remove the data for this system from the Cloud vault.

Remove the protected system from the appliance

Confirm that the agent has been removed and proceed with deleting the protected system from the appliance. From the protected systems page, click the Trash icon under the Actions column.

Note

If you are deprovisioning the entire customer, do not intend to make any further backups of the customers protected systems,  but would like to leave the existing backup data with the customer for retention purposes, you may skip deleting the protected systems from the local appliance and proceed with removing licenses from the License Portal.

Important

You must remove the protected system from any Axcient hosted Cloud vault to remove it from your billing.


Remove licenses

Login to the x360Recover License Portal using your partner username and password. 

From the left menu, expand User Management and click Licenses to manage License allocation. 

mceclip6.png

Locate the customer and location you wish to modify and click Manage from the Actions column.

 mceclip7.png

To remove a license, select an allocated unit and click Remove from the Actions column.

mceclip8.png

  • If you are simply reducing the license count for an active customer, you may need to delete a larger allocation unit and then re-add the license with a reduced endpoint count.  For example, in the screenshot above, we have 2 server licenses allocated.  If we wish to reduce to 1 server, first delete the license allocation, then click Add Endpoint License and add an allocation for 1 server license back to the customer location. 

Deactivate a customer

If you are removing an entire customer, you can save time by simply deleting or deactivating the customer in the License Portal.  From the left pane, select User Management and click Users.  Search for or locate your customer, select the checkbox and click Deactivate or Delete

deactivate1.jpg

Deactivate can easily be undone by clicking Activate.  Deleting a customer is permanent and cannot be undone.  Either action will disable all licensing for the selected customer and backups will be prohibited on any remaining appliances still operational in the field. 

Important

If protected system data still exists on an Axcient hosted vault, disabling licensing here will convert the protected system into a cloud-only instance. You will still incur billing for these cloud-only protected systems at your Bundled license rate!  A detailed explanation of x360Recover billing is available here.

Management Portal cleanup

Deletion of protected systems from appliances and vaults is not replicated to the x360Recover Management Portal.  You must manually remove retired devices from the Management Portal. 

First, login to your Management Portal. 

To remove protected systems that have been retired from service, select the Backup Status tab, locate the protected system you wish to remove, and click the Delete option from the Actions column. 

mceclip9.png

If you are deactivating an entire customer location, you may save time by deleting the appliance from the Managed Systems page.  Deleting an appliance also deletes all associated protected systems from the Management Portal. 

Important

If you intend to leave the appliance with the customer, but still remove it from your Management Portal, first ensure that the appliance is online and accessible via the Remote option on the Managed Systems page Actions column.  After confirming that the Management Portal communications tunnel with the appliance is up, click the Delete button.

mceclip10.png

Verify that the Management Portal configuration has been removed from the appliance by selecting the System Settings on the lefthand navigation and open the Management Portal tab.


SUPPORT  | 720-204-4500 | 800-352-0248 

  • To learn more about any of our Axcient products,  sign up for free one-on-one training.
  • Please contact your Partner Success Manager or Support if you have specific technical questions.
  • Subscribe to the Axcient Status page for a list of status updates and scheduled maintenance.