Manage core settings with agent orchestration - x360Recover D2C

x360Recover agent orchestration

Written By Tami Sutcliffe (Super Administrator)

Updated at September 30th, 2021

You can manage core agent settings from within the appliance UI, beginning with Release 10.10.0 and agent version 2.30. We've enhanced and expanded the dynamic agent throttling controls we previously implemented in release 10.8.0 as part of Backup Policies.


Warning: Applying changes to the agent configuration while a backup is in progress may cause the running backup to fail. Please read the following information before applying changes to the agent configuration.

1. Log in to the appliance (or D2C vault)

Several core agent configuration settings can be managed from the appliance (or from the vault for Direct-to-Cloud endpoints.)  

STEP 1. Log in to the appliance.

STEP 2. Navigate to the Protected Systems Details page.  

STEP 3. Click the Agent button to open the agent settings control dialog.

Note:  If you don’t see the Agent button under the Configure column, make sure your protected system is running agent version 2.30 or newer


2. Select the agent settings to configure

Several types of agent settings may be controlled using agent orchestration.

The toggles on the left determine which settings will be sent to the agent.  
Existing settings will be enabled and their values pre-populated in the control.

Important: Disabled settings will be removed from the agent configuration file. Disabling a toggle removes the setting from the agent config file and reverts that setting to its internal default value.


[A.] General settings 

Within the General Settings section, you can control

  • Backup Volumes

Recommended setting: blank

This field specifies which volumes to include in the backup. 

You can enter comma-separated specific drive letters to be backed up (i.e. C,E,F) or set this field to blank to back up ALL volumes. 

We recommend setting this field to blank.  When Backup Volumes is set to blank, the agent will back up all supported volumes, while also automatically excluding unsupported volumes, Windows container base images, locally attached volumes configured for local cache storage, iSCSI mounted recovery volumes from the appliance, and virtual drives created by Recovery Center.

  • Compression

Recommended setting: disabled on local LAN appliance connection

You can choose to pre-compress data sent to the server over the network.  Compression is a relatively CPU-intensive operation and is only intended to accelerate backup operations in limited network bandwidth conditions (like Direct-to-Cloud backups.)  

Enabling compression on local LAN appliance connections is not recommended and will cause backup times to run much longer than normal.  

  • FastDelta

Recommended setting: enabled for large files like SQL or Exchange databases.

This is an optimized method for determining block changes to be sent during the backup. 

FastDelta works best when dealing with large files like SQL and Exchange databases and we recommend enabling FastDelta for those types of servers.



[B.] Advanced Settings 

Number of connections controls how many parallel transmission threads are used when uploading data to the server.  This setting is dynamically scaled by default based on the number of CPU cores and generally does not need to be modified.  

If you are running the agent in Microsoft Azure and experiencing backup disconnections, it may be necessary to reduce the number of connections to keep from over-saturating the NAT gateway.  Recommended setting for protected systems running in the Azure cloud is 4.

Ignored mount points excludes specific volumes that are mounted within another volume. Ordinarily, if you include a drive letter (C: for example), any volume mounted within that volume would automatically be included in the backup. However, if you should need to exclude certain mount points (Terminal Server Profile Disks, for example), you can specify the path to each mount point here, separated by semi-colons. (i.e. C:\Users)

CSV (Cluster Shared Volumes) By default, support for Microsoft Cluster Shared Volumes is disabled.  Use this setting to enable CSV.  

Enabling CSV provides specific support for backing up Cluster Shared Volumes in a Microsoft Failover Cluster.  During each backup, whichever host in the Failover Cluster is the master for a Cluster Shared Volume will perform a backup of the volume. Over time, each host in the cluster will eventually take backups of each volume.  Consult the Protected Systems Details page snapshot history for a record of which volumes were backed up by each server over time.  For more details about support for Cluster Shared Volumes see this knowledgebase article


[C.] Local Cache Settings

When enabled, the Local Cache Settings will generate a repository of block data on a local storage device. This helps accelerate recovery of Direct-to-Cloud endpoints 

Path: Specifying a path enables the local cache settings and designates the location where the data repository will be maintained.  

  • For USB or other locally attached storage locations, specify the path with a drive letter. (For example:  Z:\LocalCache)
  • For network share locations, specify the path with a UNC location. (For example:  \\MyServer\Shared\LocalCache)

Username and Password are only required if you are using a network share path.  

The toggle controls both username and password, since they are required together.   

  • Username specifies the user account when storing local cache on a network share location.
  • Password specifies the passcode when storing local cache on a network share location.

Note: This password is never displayed or stored on the appliance or vault. This password (a) may be updated on the agent by entering a new value or (b) may be deleted by disabling the username and password fields.

4. Save agent settings when configuration is complete.

Click Save to complete changes.


How to use agent orchestration

Agent orchestration leverages the agent's endpoint manager service to update settings on the protected system.  

When you click Save to update agent settings, an agent job is created and dispatched to the protected system.  

You can monitor the progress of the job on the Jobs> Agent page:

The endpoint manager service on the protected system retrieves the job, applies the specified settings, and restarts the agent service.  

The agent then reconnects to the appliance and posts the current settings, updating with any  changes just applied.

Note: It can take up to 1 minute for the endpoint manager service to pick up and run the agent configuration job.  It may then take up to 2 minutes for the agent service to restart and update the appliance with the new settings.

Warning: Applying changes to the agent configuration while a backup is in progress may cause the running backup to fail.  (For example, if you change the specified backup volumes.)