Axcient Help Center

How to Turn on Privacy Mode

You can turn on the Privacy Mode feature for a lower-level organization and its suborganizations, which disables your ability to view data in personal folders, Team Shares, and backups. The purpose of this feature is to allow you to successfully manage the system for customers without accessing or viewing potentially sensitive customer information.

When Privacy Mode is enabled, you will still have the ability to view data within your own organization, and you will retain the necessary privileges required to manage all lower-level organizations and suborganizations.

Note

After Privacy Mode is enabled, there is no way to disable the feature.

Note

If you are interested in File Server Enablement as a best practice, File Server Enablement should be configured prior to enabling the Privacy Mode feature.

When Privacy Mode is enabled for a lower-level organization, you will not be able to

  • Browse or manage the content of personal folders, Team Shares, or backups;

  • View titles of files within personal folders, Team Shares, or backups;

  • Create backups;

  • Move accounts to a different organization;

  • Move Team Shares to a different organization; or

  • Subscribe to Team Shares.

When Privacy Mode is enabled for a lower-level organization, you will retain the ability to

  • Manage and configure the organization and its suborganizations;

  • View information about the organization and its suborganizations;

  • View space used by accounts, Team Shares, and backups;

  • View the number of files in accounts, Team Shares, and backups; and

  • Create accounts and Team Shares.

By default, organization administrators will still have the ability to browse user files within your own organization; the Privacy Mode feature only prevents organization administrators from viewing data within lower-level organizations and suborganizations. To change this setting, refer to the instructions below.

To turn on Privacy Mode:

  1. In the appropriate organization, click the Settings tab. The Settings page displays.

  2. In the Settings page, click the Privacy tab.

    03000065.png

    The Privacy Mode page displays, warning that when Privacy Mode is enabled, it cannot be disabled.

  3. In the Privacy Mode page, click the Turn on Privacy Mode button. A pop-up message displays, warning that higher level organization administrators will be prevented from viewing the organization’s files.

    03000067.png
  4. In the pop-up window, click the Enable Privacy Mode button to continue. The Privacy Mode page will refresh to indicate that Privacy Mode has been enabled.

By default, you will still have the ability to browse user files within their own organization; the Privacy Mode feature only prevents you from viewing data within lower-level organizations and suborganizations.

To disable the ability for organization administrators to browse user files within their own organization:

  1. Within the appropriate organization, click the Settings tab. The Settings page displays.

  2. In the Settings page, click the Policies tab.

    03000069.png

    The Policies section displays.

  3. In the User Settings area, uncheck the Let organization admins browse user files checkbox. Organization administrators assigned to this suborganization will no longer have the ability to view users’ data.

    0300006A.png