Axcient Help Center

How to Manage Preferences for the Thin Client

Using the icon on your computer's system tray, you can manage preferences, pause a sync process, and view warning messages.

Managing Preferences

To manage your preferences or to change your settings:

  1. Click the system tray icon, click the Manage button, and then select Preferences.

    Settings2.png

    The Preferences dialog box displays, showing the Overview tab.

  2. Use the Overview tab to view important information and status updates, including:

    1. The current state of the sync process, including whether the files are up to date, pending sync, or currently syncing;

    2. The total amount of space quota available and the total amount of space used;

    3. The device name and the device account information;

    4. The Unregister button, which unregisters your device; and

    5. The Activity area, which lists the status of uploaded and downloaded files, as well as a notification of excluded files.

      Preferences1.png
  3. Click the Settings tab to specify language, locking, and remote browsing settings. For example:

    1. Click the Language drop-down menu to select your preferred language. You can also choose to show or hide desktop notifications.

    2. In the File Locking section, click the Auto Locking drop-down menu to set your preferred auto-locking setting. If your administrator has turned on the Auto-Locking feature for a Team Share, you can decide to automatically lock, never lock, or receive a prompt each time you open a supported Word, PowerPoint, or Excel file in a Team Share.

    3. In the Privacy section, click the Disable Remote Browsing checkbox to prevent administrators from remotely browsing the contents of your Synced Folder (for example, to create a backup of your local folders).

      Preferences2.png
  4. Click the Network tab to manage LAN Sync, bandwidth, and proxy settings. For example:

    1. Use the Bandwidth Throttling section to configure bandwidth settings; you have the option to set a specific limit, or decide not to limit bandwidth. Please note that administrator settings might override your personal settings.

    2. Click the Proxies drop-down to configure proxy settings for your network connection. You can select from:

      • No proxy,

      • Detect Automatically, which auto-detects proxy settings from your system or network, or

      • Custom, which allows you to apply custom proxy configurations if automatic proxy detection is not available through the operating system.

        Preferences3.png
  5. Click the Warnings tab to view a list of file sync warnings. While still in this tab, you can also click the Export Sync Status Report link to save information about the current sync status to a text file.

    Preferences4.png
Pausing a Sync Process

You may find times when you would like to pause the sync process, such as when you are getting on a plane, when you want to conserve bandwidth, or if you would like to work in isolation.

To pause a sync process:

  1. Click the system tray icon and hover over the Status message (for example, Up to date). On a Windows machine, the icon is located in the lower right-hand corner of the screen.

    03000029.png
  2. When the text changes, click the Pause button.

  3. To resume the sync process, hover over Paused and select Resume.

    0300002A.png
Viewing Warning Messages

In addition to managing preferences and pausing a sync process, you can view the Thin Client warning messages and resolve issues directly from the system tray icon.

  1. The Space Quota indicator message displays the amount of space you are currently utilizing.

  2. The Resolve Sync Warnings indicator activates when a file sync warning—such as a collision or a locked change warning—occurs on your local machine. When this indicator is active, click to resolve the file sync warning.

  3. The Status indicator displays the progress of the sync process. This indicator will alert you when the sync process is up to date, syncing, paused, or disconnected. You can also hover over this indicator to enable pause and resume functionality.

    WarningMessages.png
Reviewing Product Updates

When product changes have been released for the Thin Client, your system will automatically update and alert you of important new features through the system tray icon. As a best practice, we recommend that you review these notifications to learn about key features and functionality.

Note

The Thin Client will only update when you are connected to the Internet.

  1. Click the system tray icon. If new features have been released, you will see a What's New notification.

  2. Click the Learn more link to learn about key new features and functionality.

    SyncEducation1.png
  3. Continue reviewing product change information by clicking the Next link when available.

    SyncEducation2.png
  4. Click the Done link when you are finished.

    SyncEducation3.png