Axcient Help Center

How to Sync Files with the Thin Client

When files and folders are added to the web portal, they automatically become viewable on your local machine, inside your Synced Folder. You can either keep content online to conserve local storage resources, or make files available for offline use.

To upload files in the Thin Client on a Windows machine:

  1. On your computer (local machine), open the Thin Client in an Explorer window.

    FileExplorer.png
  2. By default, files and folders are stored in the cloud. To make content available for offline use, right-click a file or folder, point to the Synced Folder menu item, and select Pin.

  3. If you no longer need offline access to your content, right-click a file or folder, point to the Synced Folder menu item, and select Unpin.

  4. To sync local content to the cloud, simply drag files or folders into your Synced Folder. Alternatively, you can create files inside of your Synced Folder, or save files to Synced Folder directly from the application in which you are working (for example, Microsoft Word).

  5. Use the icons to understand the current status of your files and folders.

    Status

    Description

    Not Locked

    Locked

    Syncing

    The Syncing icon indicates that the file or folder is uploading or downloading, and not synced with the server.

    Icon_Loading.png
    Icon_Loading_lock.png

    Unpinned

    The Unpin icon indicates that the file or folder is being stored in the cloud and only available locally with an Internet connection.

    Icon_OnlineOnly.png
    Icon_OnlineOnly_Lock.png

    Cached

    The Cached icon indicates that the file is fully downloaded, not pinned and synced with server.

    Icon_Cached.png
    Icon_Cached_Lock.png

    Pinned (Available Offline)

    The Pin Offline icon indicates that the file or folder is fully downloaded, pinned, and synced with the server.

    Icon_AvailableOnline.png
    Icon_AvailableOnline_Lock.png

    Warning

    The Warning icon indicates that the file has at least one warning. For more information on warnings, please reference How to Manage Preferences section.

    Icon_Warning.png
    Icon_Warning_Locked.png