Axcient Help Center

How to Resolve File Sync Warnings

The desktop client generates file sync warnings to alert end users of potential problems with the file sync process. Each warning provides an automated resolution option.

FileSyncConflictNotification.png
Common Types of File Sync Warnings

You might encounter a few different types of file sync warnings when working in Team Shares. For example:

  • Collision—A collision occurs when one file is modified in two different places at the same time. When this happens, only one of the revisions will successfully sync to the server, and the other revision will be marked as a collision. For example, User A and User B both open the same file from two separate locations, without locking the file. User A edits and saves her file, and this new revision is synchronized to the server. User A edits and saves her file again, and this updated revision is again synchronized to the server. User B is now editing an older revision of the file. When User B saves his revision of the file, it will not synchronize to the server, and will instead be marked as a collision.

  • Locked Change Warning—A locked change warning occurs when a user attempts to modify a file that has been previously locked by another user, either at the file level or the folder level. For example, User A locks a file and the file is marked with a lock icon. Later, User B opens the file, ignoring the lock icon, and begins modifying the file. When User B attempts to save his revision, it does not immediately synchronize with the server, and is instead marked as a locked change warning. When User A unlocks the file, User B's revision will automatically synchronize to the server without any additional action on his part.

    Your administrator can configure file locking so that locks are stronger (hard locks); in these instances, you will not encounter a locked change warning. For more information, please contact your administrator.

    Note: If Team Share subscribers forget to lock files and folders before making changes, file sync warnings will occur more often; it is therefore considered a best practice to lock files or folders before making changes.

Resolving a Collision

To resolve a collision on a Windows or Mac machine:

  1. When a collision occurs, you will see a Resolve Sync Conflict icon.

    FileSyncConflictNotification.png
  2. Click the icon on your computer’s system tray or menu bar and select the Sync Conflicts notification icon.

    0300003A.png

    Note: On a Windows machine, the icon is located in the lower right-hand corner of the screen; on a Mac machine, the icon is located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

    The Preferences dialog box displays, showing the Warnings tab.

    Warnings2.png
  3. In the Warnings tab, click the Resolve link to learn more about the collision.

    1. Click the Rename button to rename your copy to include the term collision appended to the end. When this option is selected, you will see two files: the original_file_name file and the original_file_name (collision) file.

    2. Click the Discard button to delete your copy without saving changes.

    3. Depending on administrative settings, you might also have the option to click the Overwrite Current button to sync your local copy as the current server revision.

      Collision.png
  4. Alternatively, you can resolve the file sync warning directly within Windows Explorer or Mac Finder. For example, on a Windows machine, right-click the affected file, point to the sync menu, and select your preferred option.

    SyncedToolCollisionMenu.png
Resolving a Locked Change Warning

To resolve a locked change warning on a Windows or Mac machine:

  1. When a locked change warning occurs, you will see a Resolve Sync Conflicts icon.

    FileSyncConflictNotification.png
  2. Click the icon on your computer’s system tray or menu bar and select the Sync Conflicts notification icon.

    0300003A.png

    Note: On a Windows machine, the icon is located in the lower right-hand corner of the screen; on a Mac machine, the icon is located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

    The Preferences dialog box displays, showing the Warnings tab.

  3. In the Warnings tab, click the Resolve link to view more information about the locked change warning.

    Resolve.png
  4. Click the Dismiss link to clear the warning. The system will resolve this issue for you as soon as the lock is removed.

    Dismiss.png
Other Types of File Sync Warnings

In total, the desktop client can generate six different types of file sync warnings:

File Collision

This file isn't syncing because the local changes are conflicting with the cloud version. To resolve this issue, you can select from:

  • Rename - Rename the local file so the new changes sync to the cloud. This creates a new file.

  • Discard - Discard the new changes and sync down the cloud version. This option will send your recent local changes to the Recycle Bin.

  • Overview - Overwrite the cloud version with the new changes.

    Note: This option will only be visible if it the Allow users to overwrite collisions policy is enabled.

Conflict1.png
Folder Exists Upstream (Folder collision)

This folder isn't syncing because a folder with the same name already exists in the cloud. To resolve this issue, you can select from:

  • Rename - Rename the local folder to begin syncing to the cloud. This creates a new folder.

  • Delete - Delete this folder and sync down the cloud version. After choosing Delete, users are prompted to confirm. Clicking the OK button will send your local folder to the Recycle Bin.

Conflict2.png.png
Invalid Credentials for Synced Network Path

There is a problem connecting to this folder. You can try updating your credentials to regain access. After clicking Enter Credentials, the user will be prompted to log in.

Conflict3.png
File Is Locked

The new changes won't sync because the file has been locked. This error will resolve itself when the file is unlocked.

Conflict4.png
Sync Root Folder Missing

This folder isn't syncing because it could not be found.

This could happen due to one of two situations:

  • Folder was actually deleted or never created.

  • Not able to access the drive itself (for example, the folder is located on a flash drive or network share).

To resolve this error, you can select from:

  • Unsubscribe - this option will unsubscribe the user from the Team Share.

  • Re-Sync - this option will re-sync this data from the cloud.

Folder Permission

You don’t have the right permissions to sync this folder. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Dismiss - this option will hide the warning; the folder will not sync.

Team Share Permission

You do not have permission to delete this file. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Restore - this option will restore the deleted file.

20.png

You do not have permission to delete this folder. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Restore - this option will restore the deleted folder.

21.png

You do not have permission to move this file. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Revert - this option will restore the moved file.

22.png

You do not have permission to move this folder. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Restore - this option will restore the moved folder.

23.png

You do not have this permission to create files. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Delete - this option will delete the newly created file.

24.png

You do not have permission to create folders. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Delete - this option will delete the newly created folder.

25.png

You do not have permission to edit files. To resolve this warning, you can select from:

  • Discard - this option will discard edits to the file.

26.png