Axcient Help Center

How to Manage Backups

You can manage all backups—whether they were created by you or end users—by clicking the Backups tab. In the Backups page, you can manage the content of backups, browse the content of backups, and delete backups.

When a user account is deleted from the system, the backup will deactivate, but will still be accessible in the Backups tab of the administrative web portal.

To manage backups:

  1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to manage backups. The selected organization displays.

  2. Click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, showing a list of all existing backups in the selected organization.

  3. In the Backups page, find the backup that you want to manage. Optionally, use the Search box to search for a backup using the owner's name.

    1. Click the checkbox next to a backup. The toolbar will expand to display additional actions.

      030000AB.png
    2. Click the Erase Deleted Files button to permanently remove deleted files in the selected backup.

    3. Click the Deactivate Selected Backups button to remove the backup.

    4. Click the Restore Deleted button to restore the contents of the backup to a specified location.

    5. Click the Trim button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup.

  4. While still in the Backups page, you can browse the contents of the backup.

  5. Click the Browse button.

    030000AC2.png

    The backup opens, allowing you to browse its content.

  6. Inside the backup, you can:

    1. Click the Create Folder button to create a new folder inside the backup.

    2. Click the Upload Files button to add files to the backup.

    3. Click the Rollback button to restore all files within the entire folder to an earlier revision before a selected date. The Revision Rollback feature is particularly useful in situations where a file might have been corrupted by ransomware; it utilizes a file’s revision history, and restores all currently-existing content in the folder to a healthy revision at a specified point-in-time. In these cases, you can use the Activity Log to determine when the infected revisions were uploaded, and then roll back files prior to the point of infection.

    4. Click the Show Deleted button to show files that have been deleted within the backup

    5. Click the Restore Deleted button to return any deleted files to the backup.

    6. Click the Trim button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup.

      030000AD.png
  7. In the Backups page, you can restore a backup to a specific location. You can also restore a backup to a different machine, as long as a desktop client is installed on that machine.

    1. Click the Restore button.

      030000AE2.png

      A Restore Backup page displays.

    2. In the Restore Backup page, browse the selected machine to select a restore point. Optionally, click the New Folder button to create a new folder as a restore point.

    3. Click the Save button when you are finished.

      030000AF.png
  8. Optionally, in the Backups page, click the Delete button to delete a backup.

    030000B02.png

    The backup will delete from the selected machine.