Axcient Help Center

How to Lock Files and Folders in the Web Portal

In the web portal, you can place locks on a whole Team Share, a subfolder in a Team Share, or a file in a Team Share. When an item is locked, a lock icon will be placed over the file or folder, and it will become read-only for others subscribed to the Team Share.

To place a lock on a file or folder in the web portal:

  1. In the web portal, right-click the item, and select lock.

    03000037.png

    The item is now locked, and is read-only for everyone else in the share.

  2. Alternatively, to lock the folder or file for a specific amount of time, select Lock For. A pop-up window displays, allowing you to select a time period, including: 30 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 6 hours, or 1 day.

  3. When you are finished editing, you must unlock the item. To unlock the item, right-click the file or folder again, and select unlock.

Viewing Lock Information

When you are working in the web portal, you can view information about who locked the file or folder.

  • In the web portal, right-click the Team Share item, and select Lock Info. A dialog box displays, giving you information about who locked the item, where the item was locked, and when the lock expires.

    LockInfo_web.png