Axcient Help Center

How to Create a New Team Share

Your administrator might have created Team Shares for you when the system was first configured, but you can also create your own Team Shares. You can create a Team Share if you are collaborating with another person, or group, on a specific set of content. You add files to Team Shares the same way you add files to standard folders. When you or another user in your Team Share adds or edits a file or folder, changes synchronize across all subscribed accounts.

In both the web portal and in Synced Folder, Team Share folders can be recognized by icons with two people on it.

  • Team shares in the web portal:

    0300002B.png
  • Team shares in Synced Folder:

    0300002C.png

When you work within Team Shares, it is important to be careful and courteous when you edit, delete, and move files and folders. Files and folders stored in Team Shares are shared among all other subscribers, so what you do affects your team members.

You might find it useful to follow certain best practices to ensure that shared content is protected and well managed. These best practices include:

  • Locking files and folders before you begin making changes—when you lock a file and folder, you are essentially setting it as read-only for others subscribed to the Team Share, giving you exclusive editing rights while you make changes. For more information, please reference the Locking Files and Folders section of the Guide.

  • Monitoring activity using the File Report, the Activity Log, and the Daily Email Digest—To see a summary of changes made to files and folders within a specific Team Share, you can optionally track and monitor activity in the web portal using the File Report and the Activity log. For more information, please reference the File Report and Activity Log section of the Guide. To create a Daily Email Digest that summarizes activity for a particular Team Share, please reference the How to Manage Shared Items section of the Guide.

Team Share Permissions

When administrators create Team Shares, they assign permission roles, which define how each subscriber can interact with content in the Team Share. For example:

  • The Co-Owner has total control over content.

  • The Collaborator (default role) has the ability to seamlessly work with others by creating share links and modifying all content locally and on the web.

  • The Editor is similar to the Collaborator, but without the ability to generate share links.

  • The Web Editor is similar to the Editor, but without the ability to download or sync content locally. Web Editors can edit the content within the Collaborative Web Editor only.

  • The Viewer is a restricted role, only giving users the ability to view content.

  • The Previewer is a restricted role, only giving users the ability to preview content in the web portal.

  • The Uploader is a restricted role, only giving users the ability to view folder structures (not files) and upload files and folders on the web.

If you perform an unauthorized action in the web portal, you will receive an error message.

If you perform an unauthorized action from the desktop client, you will receive a file sync warning.

mceclip6.png

Please contact your administrator if you have questions about Team Share permission roles assigned to you.

Instructions

In many instances, an administrator will create a Team Share for you. As an end user, you can also create your own Team Shares. To create a new Team Share:

  1. In the web portal, click the Shares tab. The Team Shares page displays.

  2. In the Team Shares page, click the Create Team Share button.

    0300002D.png

    The Create Team Share page displays.

  3. In the Create Team Share page, type a descriptive name for the Team Share in the Team Share Name field.

    0300002E.png
  4. Click the Create button when you are finished. You will be redirected to the Team Share Subscribers page.

  5. In the Team Share Subscribers page, select a name from the Select a User drop-down menu, and click the Add to Share button.

    0300002F.png

    The selected user will now be added to the Team Share.