Axcient Help Center

Managing Protected Systems

After the Agent is installed on a Protected System, you should monitor the machine to ensure it remains in a healthy state. A few management and maintenance tasks associated with monitoring a Protected System include:

  • Viewing Protected Systems status,

  • Modifying the Agent (or Agent configuration settings), and

  • Deleting or migrating a Protected System.

Viewing Protected Systems

You can view a list of registered Protected Systems from the Appliance or Vault Web Interface. From the Appliance or Vault Web interface, you can view the status of Protected Systems, the Operating System, view currently protected volumes, and more.

To view Protected Systems:

  1. Log in to the Appliance or Vault Web interface. In this procedure, we are logging in to the Appliance Web interface.

  2. In the left-hand navigation menu, click the Protected Systems tab.

    image59.png
  3. Use the columns to view the details of each Protected System:

    1. The Status column displays icons that indicate whether the system is currently running as a virtual machine (the first icon will be green) and if replication is enabled for the system (the second icon will be blue).

    2. The System Name column lists the name of the Protected System and helps you identify each Protected System.

    3. The Operating System Column lists the Operating System of the Protected System.

    4. The Currently Protected Volumes field lists the volumes being backed up.

    5. If you are working in the Appliance Web interface, the Schedule column allows you to adjust the predefined schedule assigned to the Protected System. Schedules can be edited in the Schedules page of the Appliance Web interface. For complete instructions, please reference the Replibit Installation Guide.

    6. The Actions column allows you to delete or view the details of a Protected System. Clicking Delete will prompt for the permanent deletion and removal of the Protected System and all recovery points. This action is permanent and cannot be undone. Clicking the Details button will open the Protected System Details page, which contains many additional system-specific configuration options.

      image60.png
Modifying the Configuration File

In some instances, you might notice that a Protected System is not functioning as expected. For example, a Protected System might be backing up the wrong volume, or you might notice performance issues. You can use the Agent’s configuration file (aristos.cfg) to adjust various settings.

The Agent configuration file lists key parameters that control Agent behavior. In most instances, you will not need to access or modify this file. However, you may need to edit this file for troubleshooting purposes, performance improvement, or to turn on advanced features.

For example, you can manage the following parameters:

  1. The BACKUP_VOLUMES parameter is an inclusion list, specifying which NTFS volumes are to be backed up by the Agent. By default, the value is blank, prompting a backup of all detected NTFS volumes. To define an inclusion list, enter each volume, separated by a comma.

  2. The PORT parameter lists the port open between the Protected System and the Appliance.

  3. The SERVER parameter lists the IP address of the Appliance.

  4. The USE_FASTDELTA parameter is used to turn on or off the Fast Delta feature. Fast Delta is a block-change scanning tool that improves the backup performance of large database applications, such as Microsoft Exchange or Microsoft SQL. By default, this parameter is set to false. This parameter should only be set to true when supporting Microsoft Exchange or Microsoft SQL servers.

  5. The NUM_WRITERS parameter is not listed in the default configuration file, but it can be inserted to adjust the number of worker threads utilized by the Agent. Lowering this value will reduce the speed of backups. If you are noticing CPU performance issues on a local machine with an installed Agent, you can modify this value to lower CPU usage. By default, the Agent uses four worker threads per processor core.

image61.png

Note

Additional configuration options are available for special use cases. Please contact Axcient Support for assistance in troubleshooting and configuring advanced Agent settings.

To modify the Agent configuration file:

  1. From the Services app on the target machine, stop and disable the Replibit Agent Service.

    image62.png
  2. Using Windows Explorer, navigate to the Replibit Agent installation folder (for example, C:\Program Files (x86)\Replibit\).

  3. Open the aristos.cfg file with administrative privileges.

    image99.png
  4. Modify the appropriate parameters.

  5. Save the file when you are finished.

    image64.png
  6. Enable and restart the Replibit Agent Service.

    image62.png
Deleting a Protected System

If you need to delete a Protected System, remember that removing a license does not stop the billing process. To stop the billing process, you must complete each of the following steps: 

  • Uninstall the Replibit agent.

  • Delete the Protected System from the Appliance.

  • Delete the Protected System from the Vault.

  • Remove the license in the Replibit Licensing Portal.

Note

To avoid billing charges, you must remove the Protected System from all Axcient Vaults. If you are Vaulting to your own Private Cloud, you can leave the system on your self-hosted Vault without incurring any additional charges.

To delete a Protected System:

  1. On the Protected System, open the Control Panel.

  2. Uninstall the Replibit Agent from the Protected System using the Apps & Features tool.

    image65.png
  3. Log in to the Appliance Web interface.

  4. Click the Protected Systems tab. The Protected System page displays, listing all Protected Systems registered to the Appliance.

  5. Find the Protected System and click the Delete button.

    image66.png
  6. Log in to the Replibit Licensing Portal.

  7. Click the User Management tab to expand the menu and then click the Licenses tab.

    image67.png
  8. Find the Location you want to manage and click the Manage button.

    image68.png
  9. In the Manage Location page, find the license you want to delete and click the Remove button to remove.

    image69.png
  10. Log in to the Vault Web interface.

  11. Click the Protected Systems tab. The Protected System page displays, listing all Protected Systems being replicated to the Vault.

  12. In the Protected Systems page, find the Protected System you want to delete and click the Delete button.

    image70.png