Axcient Help Center

Backups

You can create backups of files and folders that exist on your local machine. You might want to create a backup of a file or folder that you want to protect, but do not want to sync. Backups do not reside in Synced Folder, and cannot be shared with another user account.

To create a backup, you can use the Backups tab in the web portal, where you can also manage and restore backups. Alternatively, you can create backups directly on your local machine.

How to Create Backups in the Web Portal

When you back up a folder, you can access your backups from the web portal and from mobile apps. All new changes are continuously backed up. Additionally, backups include revisions to files.

To back up a folder from the web portal:

  1. In the web portal, click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, listing all of your existing backups.

    03000047.png
  2. In the Backups page, click the CreateBackups button. The page refreshes to allow you to navigate your local machine and select the folder you want to back up.

    03000048.png
  3. Click the Save button when you are finished. The page refreshes to show you all backups that have been configured.

How to Create Backups on your Local Machine

In addition to backing up folders in the web portal, you can also back up your folders directly from your local machine. Like backups configured in the web portal, backups configured on your local machine continuously back up new changes, and will keep revisions.

To back up a folder from your Windows or Mac machine:

  1. Right-click the folder you want to back up. A menu displays.

  2. Point to the sync menu, and select Back up this folder.

    backup.png

    Your browser opens, displaying the newly created backup.

    03000049.png
  3. To deactivate a backup from your machine, right-click the back up on your computer or laptop, point to the sync menu, and select Remove backup. The folder will no longer back up, and will be listed as deactivated in the web portal.

How to Manage Backups in the Web Portal

You can manage all backups by clicking the Backups tab in the web portal. In the Backups page, you can manage the content of backups, browse the content of backups, delete backups, or restore backups.

To manage backups:

  1. In the web portal, click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, showing a list of all existing backups.

  2. In the Backups page, you can browse the contents of the backup.

    1. Click the Browse button.

      0300004B.png

      The backup opens, allowing you to browse its content.

  3. Inside the backup, you can also:

    1. Click the Create Folder button to create a new folder inside the backup.

    2. Click the Upload Files button to add files to the backup.

    3. Click the Rollback button to restore all files within the entire folder to an earlier revision before a selected date. The Revision Rollback feature is particularly useful in situations where a file might have been corrupted by ransomware; it utilizes a file’s revision history, and restores all currently-existing content in the folder to a healthy revision at a specified point-in-time. In these cases, you can use the Activity Log to determine when the infected revisions were uploaded, and then roll back files prior to the point of infection.

    4. Click the Show Deleted button to show files that have been deleted within the backup

    5. Click the Restore Deleted button to return any deleted files to the backup.

    6. Click the Erase All Revisions button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup.

      0300004C.png
  4. In the Backups page, you can restore a backup to a specific location.

    1. Click the Restore button.

      0300004D.png

      A Restore Backup page displays.

    2. In the Restore Backup page, browse to select a restore point. Optionally, click the New Folder button to create a new folder as a restore point.

    3. Click the Save button when you are finished.

      0300004E.png
  5. Optionally, in the Backups page, click the Delete button to delete a backup.

    0300004F.png

    The backup will delete.